Tartan track squads take first place at home invitational

Runners take off on the track at the Carnegie Mellon Mini Invitational on Saturday, where both teams took first. (credit: Courtesy of CMU Athletics) Runners take off on the track at the Carnegie Mellon Mini Invitational on Saturday, where both teams took first. (credit: Courtesy of CMU Athletics)

On Friday and Saturday, the Carnegie Mellon men’s and women’s track and field teams hosted the Carnegie Mellon Mini Invitational. Both teams came in first place out of five competing schools, besting the men’s and women’s teams from Waynesburg University, Denison University, Allegheny College, and Franciscan University.

The Tartan men finished with 311 points after winning 11 events. Sophomore thrower Jacob Schofel won the hammer throw on Friday evening with a career-best mark of 52.33 meters, which is the third best throw in school history. First-year thrower Kenny Sladick and sophomore thrower David Trzcinski also contributed to scoring in the hammer throw with career best efforts. Sladick finished third overall with a 40.47 meter throw while Trzcinski recorded a 39.65 meter mark good for fourth place.

Trzcinski took second in the shot put with a throw of 14.03 meters and Sladick turned in a third-place showing in the discus with a mark of 36.52 meters. First-year sprinter and jumper Rai Walters placed first in the long jump with a 6.57 meter effort, a record for the longest jump in the invitational’s history. Sophomore jumper and sprinter Matthew Seifu came in third with 6.28 meters. First-year jumper Eloy Fernandez placed second in the triple jump with a mark of 12.98 meters. Junior pole vaulter Kyle Waver took second in the pole vault after clearing the bar at 3.73 meters, while senior pole vaulter Victor Yan tied for third at the same mark due to the judge’s decision. First-year jumper Reed Farber and sophomore sprinter and jumper Cameron Smith both cleared the high jump at 1.81 meters. The judge’s decision gave Farber second place while Smith took third.

The 4x100 relay team of Seifu, junior sprinter Zachary Blonder, senior sprinter Jeff Chen, and first-year sprinter Christopher Bayley finished first with a time of 44.25 seconds. Chen proceeded to win the 200-meter dash with a personal best 23.09 second time and finished second in the 100-meter dash in a career best 11.30 seconds. Bayley placed third in the 200 and fourth in the 100 with times of 23.73 and 11.59 seconds. Junior mid-distance runner Curtis Watro won the 1,500-meter run with a time of 3:59.82, a career-best time and a record time in the invitational’s history.

The Tartans swept the top three spots in the 110-meter hurdles. Junior hurdler and jumper Don Boyer won the event with a time of 15.97. Junior hurdler Matthew Sheh took second in 16.48 and first-year hurdler George Viccaro finished third in 16.55 seconds. First-year mid-distance runner Isaac Mills cleared the 400-meter run in a meet record time of 50.52 to win the event while junior sprinter Jonathan Perry crossed in 51.62 to place second. Junior mid-distance runner Owen Norley won the 800-meter run, crossing in 1:54.11. Senior mid-distance runner Marc-Daniel Julien finished in second after 1:55.17, followed by sophomore mid-distance runner Evan Larrick whose 1:56.12 time earned him third place.

In the 5,000-meter run, first-year distance runner William Mitchell crossed first in 15:28.85. First-year distance runner Liam Walsh placed second in 15:29.34, and junior mid-distance runner Gordon Pace took third in 15:44.45. In the 4x400-meter relay, Bayley, Chen, Perry, and Norley finished in first place with a 3:25.24 time.

The Tartan women earned 245 points off of their 10 first-place finishes during the invitational. First-year jumper Tessa Allen broke an 18-year old school record after clearing the bar at 1.59 meters in the high jump. Junior hurdler and jumper Rebecca Fortner took third with a 1.54 meter mark.

Allen later won the triple jump with a 10.40 meter jump while first-year jumper and sprinter Autumn Hair placed third at 9.83 meters. First-year sprinter and jumper Debarati Bhanja placed first in the long jump with a school record tying 5.47 meter mark. Hair placed second with 5.07 meters while junior sprinter and jumper Jerilyn James took third with 4.84 meters. Sophomore thrower Kiersten Chuc won the hammer throw with a career-best distance of 39.54 meters. First-year thrower Oly Nwankwo made a career best 32.12 meter throw to finish fourth. Junior pole vaulter Grace Yee cleared 3.28 meters to win the pole vault.

Senior mid-distance runner Taylor Maggiacomo recorded a personal-best time of 12:12.25 in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. The 4x100-meter relay team of James, Hair, Bhanja and sophomore sprinter Sarah Cook crossed in 50.21 to place first. Senior mid-distance runner Liz Snyder and senior distance runner Natalie Smith earned first and second place points, respectively, for their fourth and fifth place performances in the 1,500-meter run. Snyder finished in 4:54.90 while Smith took 5:02.74. Cook turned in a meet record and personal-best time of 2:17.11 in the 800-meter race to win the event.

In the 400-meter run, junior sprinter Ariel Tian crossed in 1:01.63 to place second. Junior hurdler and jumper Sommer Farber and Fotner took second and third in the 100-meter hurdles with times of 16.65 and 17.02, respectively. Bhanja placed second in the 100- and 200-meter dashes with times of 13.32 and 26.14.

James finished third in the respective events with times of 13.40 and 27.32. The 4x400-meter relay team of Bhanja, Tian, first-year sprinter, mid-distance runner, and hurdler Rose Ciriello, and Cook crossed in 4:01.36, a meet record that gave the team their 10th victory of the event.

The Tartan men and women will be back to run again at Gesling Stadium on April 2 when they host their annual Quad Meet beginning at 10 a.m.